Petrillo & Goldberg
Excels for our clients
Talk to an Attorney
Get a Free Case Evaluation
Close

How much workers’ compensation do I get for a hand or finger injury in New Jersey?

The amount of compensation you can get for a hand or finger injury in New Jersey increased as a result of a new law that took effect Jan. 21, 2020.

If you injure your hand, New Jersey’s workers’ compensation law pays you benefits for a number of weeks based on the percentage of loss of function of your hand. Before the new law, for a hand injury, you received 2.45 weeks for each percentage of loss of function. Now, you receive 2.6 weeks until the loss of function reaches 25 percent. Once you reach the 25 percent level, you receive three weeks for each percentage of loss of function.

The new law also boosts the number of weeks you get for the loss of a digit:

  • Thumb: Increase to 80 from 75 weeks
  • Index finger: Increase to 60 from 50 weeks
  • Second finger: Increase to 50 from 40 weeks
  • Third finger: Increase to 40 from 30 weeks
  • Little finger: Increase to 30 from 20 weeks

Other Frequently Asked Questions:

Call US AT 856.486.4343
TESTIMONIAL

I have dealt with other law firms, and there is no comparison. It is an honor to know you and I must say, that I have the highest regard for your integrity.

- Lance Zeaman

TRUST

Meet our Attorneys

The highly competent lawyers at Petrillo and Goldberg represent clients with personal injury claims, workers compensation claims, slip-and-fall cases and automobile accident victims. We work for you, and take our job of getting the best possible results for you seriously.

Scott M. Goldberg

PROFILE

Steven Petrillo

PROFILE

Scott D. Schulman

PROFILE

Jeff Thiel

PROFILE