Petrillo & Goldberg
Excels for our clients
Talk to an Attorney
Get a Free Case Evaluation

Close

What happens when you get in an accident with Uber?

While Uber offers riders a convenient alternative to traditional modes of transportation, Uber riders also take on a significant amount of risk each time they get into a car.

There are a variety of ways that an Uber accident can occur, and what happens after an accident will depend on the type of accident, when it occurred, and who was at fault.

Accidents Caused by an Uber Driver

Many South Jersey Uber accidents are caused by the Uber driver’s negligence. In part, this is because rideshare drivers spend a significant part of their day behind the wheel. However, it is also because Uber imposes very few requirements on those hoping to become a rideshare driver. According to Uber’s website, anyone who meets the following criteria can become a driver:

  • Have an eligible 4-door car
  • Have a valid driver’s license
  • Have valid vehicle registration and insurance
  • Have a smartphone
  • Be at least 21 years old

If an Uber driver causes an accident, the company’s insurance policy may provide coverage. However, the availability and extent of the overage will depend on whether the driver was on an official ride. Uber’s insurance policy provides $1.5 million in coverage if the driver is matched with a passenger or transporting a passenger. However, if an Uber driver causes an accident while they are waiting to be paired with a passenger, the insurance limits are significantly lower, offering bodily injury coverage of just $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident.

Of course, anyone injured by an Uber driver’s negligence can also file a claim with the driver’s personal insurance policy. However, complications can arise if the driver did not purchase a rideshare endorsement with their policy, as most insurance policies include an exclusion for accidents that occur while the insured is transporting someone for a fee. Additionally, even if a driver’s personal insurance policy applies, the policy limits may be significantly lower than the amount of damages suffered by the accident victim. New Jersey law guarantees passengers up to $1.5 million in coverage for their medical bills; however, this does not apply to non-passengers, such as pedestrians, bicyclists or other motorists.

Accidents Caused by Another Motorist

If someone is injured in a South New Jersey Uber accident that was not the result of the rideshare driver’s negligence, the accident victim will first file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance policy. Of course, an accident victim’s damages may exceed the at-fault driver’s insurance policy limits, as the minimum insurance requirements for bodily injury coverage in New Jersey are only $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident. In this situation, Uber’s insurance policy will kick in with up to $1.5 million in uninsured/underinsured coverage.

Other Frequently Asked Questions:

Call US AT 856.486.4343
TESTIMONIAL

I have dealt with other law firms, and there is no comparison. It is an honor to know you and I must say, that I have the highest regard for your integrity.

- Lance Zeaman

TRUST

Meet our Attorneys

The highly competent lawyers at Petrillo and Goldberg represent clients with personal injury claims, workers compensation claims, slip-and-fall cases and automobile accident victims. We work for you, and take our job of getting the best possible results for you seriously.

Scott M. Goldberg

PROFILE

Steven Petrillo

PROFILE

Scott D. Schulman

PROFILE

Jeff Thiel

PROFILE