Car accidents are common across New Jersey. Some of the most common and dangerous types of car crashes are single-vehicle crashes. These types of accidents can be more hazardous than head-on collisions and multiple car pileups.
If you have been involved in a single-car crash in South New Jersey, your insurance situation is likely different from accidents involving more than one vehicle. In case of a single-car accident, you will make a claim with your insurance carrier. If other factors contributed to the accident, like defective vehicle parts or poor road sign visibility, you would pursue a claim with your insurance.
In New Jersey, single-car crashes can be divided into five types. This classification is frequently used by law enforcement. The classifications are:
- Collisions where the driver hits a stationary object e.g., telephone pole, median, tree
- Accidents involving an animal e.g., deer, moose
- Colliding with a pedestrian on the road
- Crashes where a driver hits a bicyclist, either stationary or in motion
- Wrecks involving non-fixed objects e.g., road debris, tree limbs, potholes
In almost all of the New Jersey single-car crashes, it is the driver who is responsible or liable for that accident. If there is a passenger involved, and they were injured, they may take legal action against the driver by filing a personal injury claim.
New Jersey’s mandatory minimum vehicle insurance requirements include coverage of:
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance of $15,000 per person, per accident and up to $250,000 for certain injuries
- $5,000 per accident
If the driver of the car involved in a single-car crash is injured, as is most likely the case, they must claim lost wages and medical expenses from their insurance. This is referred to as accessing personal injury protection (PIP) benefits. In other words, the at-fault, solo driver’s no-fault insurance policy pays for medical bills and other relevant expenses.
Do not wait long to file a claim if you have been injured in a single-car crash. The New Jersey statute of limitations has a set time limit of two years from the date of the collision for you to bring a lawsuit. Those who wait too long will often find that their case was dismissed for not filing in time. Hire an experienced single-car crash accident attorney at Petrillo & Goldberg Law to help you navigate your claim.
Immediately following your accident, reach out to an attorney. It is best to discuss your case with a capable and knowledgeable single-car crash attorney at Petrillo & Goldberg Law. An attorney will protect your rights and navigate you through your claim.
If you have been involved in a single-car accident, do not wait to contact Petrillo & Goldberg Law to find out what your legal rights are and how to file a claim for compensation according to the circumstances of your case.
Petrillo & Goldberg Law help personal injury victims obtain the compensation they deserve and are available for a free consultation at our Pennsauken, New Jersey office. They can also be reached by calling (856) 249-9288.