Suffering a workplace injury can seriously disrupt your life. Suddenly, you are confronted with the reality of missing work, missing a paycheck, and not knowing when you will be able to return. As time goes on, the medical bills continue to increase, and the situation can quickly become overwhelming.
At the New Jersey workers’ compensation law firm of Petrillo & Goldberg Law, we help injured workers recover the benefits they need and deserve after suffering a workplace injury. Our lawyers have recovered more than $120 on behalf of our clients and know what it takes to connect you with the full amount of workers’ compensation benefits you are entitled to.
Injured workers can pursue a Camden workers’ compensation claim to obtain benefits that will cover the costs of their medical care and provide them with an income while they recover. However, workers’ compensation claimants often face challenges when preparing and submitting their claims, as well as getting them approved. Below are some steps you can take to ensure that you put yourself in the most favorable position possible.
Report the Injury to Your Employer
One of the key requirements for a workers’ compensation claim is providing your employer with the appropriate notice. You can’t just file a claim months after an on-the-job injury without not having informed your employer of the incident. Generally, it is best to notify your employer of an accident as soon as possible. However, in no event should you wait longer than 90 days, as doing so may result in you being ineligible for workers’ compensation benefits.
Fill Out a Workplace Injury Report
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration requires employers make workplace injury reports available to employees. It is important that you ask for a report and fill it out promptly. This is even the case if your employer tells you that filing a workplace injury report is not necessary.
Seek Medical Care from Your Own Provider
At some point down the line after filing a workers’ compensation claim, your employer’s insurance company will likely ask you to be reviewed by one of their doctors. However, it is also important for you to get checked out by your own doctor. While workers’ compensation doctors are not necessarily employed by the insurance company, they derive a lot of business from their relationship with insurance companies. Thus, they are not known for offering opinions that are favorable to injured workers.
File a Workers’ Compensation Claim
Once you file an injury report with your employer, they are required to report the incident to the New Jersey Division of Workers’ Compensation within 21 days. However, if this is not done, you may need to file a workers’ compensation claim on your own.
Retain an Experienced Camden County Workers’ Compensation Lawyer
At any point in the workers’ compensation process, an attorney is an invaluable resource that can make the process much easier for you. A Camden County workers’ compensation lawyer can advise you of the benefits you may be eligible for, help you prepare your claim, gather all necessary documentation, and negotiate with the insurance company on your behalf. Your lawyer will also be able to effectively address any unanticipated issues that come up along the way.
Schedule a Free Consultation with a Camden County Workers’ Comp Lawyer Today
Employers are responsible for creating a safe workplace, and workers who are injured or become ill as a result of their employment may be entitled to compensation for their injuries. In addition, there may be other parties who are liable to an injured worker through a third-party workplace injury lawsuit. At Petrillo & Goldberg Law, we have assembled a compassionate team of advocates who have dedicated their careers to helping New Jersey workers recover the compensation they deserve. To learn more, call 856-486-4343 to schedule a free consultation.